Skip to main content Navigation

Articles and News

What Are the Different Types of Pearls? GIA Explains September 13, 2022 (0 comments)


New York, NY--Pearls come in a wide variety, the most typical values being white and cream. Other standard colors include black, gray, and silver.

[Photo by Tim Mossholder via Pexels]

The palette of colors also extends to every hue, with the primary color of the pearl modified by additional colors, also known as overtones. These overtones are typically pink, green, purple, or blue.

A blog post by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) also notes that some pearls show the phenomenon known as orient, where they showcase numerous colors at different angles.

The post by GIA states that cultured pearls are most popular in bread necklaces and bracelets. They are even mounted in solitaires, pairs, or clusters for earrings, rings, and pendants. Larger pearls find popularity with creative designers.

GIA writes that the difference between natural and cultured pearls is based on human intervention. Natural pearls, suggestive of their name, are formed in the bodies or tissues of certain mollusks. Cultured pearls, on the other hand, need human intervention.

The blog post details subtypes of cultured pearl types, such as Akoya cultured pearls, south sea cultured pearls, Tahitian cultured pearls, and freshwater cultured pearls. 

Read the entire post for more.

Share This:

Leave a Comment:

Human Check